Bigdaddykool vs Seeking My Dream

first_img PERFORMANCE Owned by Member of Parliament Derrick Smith, the chestnut colt by Seeking The Glory out of Alsafra, turned in the performance of the season to beat BIGDADDYKOOL by five lengths in the Diamond Mile, equalling the stakes’ record time of 1:36.2 in the process. SEEKING MY DREAM also won the Eros Trophy, Legal Light Trophy and Prime Minister’s Stakes, all grade one races. However, he could only manage fifth as the hot favourite in the Gold Cup and third behind the disqualified FRANFIELD and BIGDADDYKOOL (awarded race) in the November 12 Burger King Superstakes. According to Miller, “Both horses have strong claims and it should be one of the closest voting for Horse of the Year in recent years.” – O.C. Voting for ‘Horse of the Year’ will commence tomorrow as the 17-member committee entrusted to make the selection will be activated January 14-21. The ‘Horse of the Year’ Committee is comprised of representatives of the press, CTL racing secretary Denzil Miller Jr along with two senior officials of the racing office at Caymanas Park. From all indications, they will choose between the two top horses of 2016 – BIGDADDYKOOL and SEEKING MY DREAM – both of whom won five races, among them four classified as grade one races. The Anthony ‘Baba’ Nunes-trained BIGDADDYKOOL, owned by the Trinidadian Stephan Narinesingh, emerged the season’s leading stakes winner with five wins from 11 starts and just over $11 million in stakes as a three-year-old last season. The bay gelding by Sorrentino out of Beware Baby not only won the prestigious Superstakes, but the St Leger, Lotto Classic for the Governor’s Cup and the Harry Jackson Memorial Cup. In addition, he finished second in the Cal’s Jamaica Derby and was also second to SEEKING MY DREAM in the rich Diamond Mile. The Wayne DaCosta-trained SEEKING MY DREAM, who was ‘Horse of the Year’ in 2015, won five races from eight starts and $10.2 million in stakes.center_img OF THE SEASONlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *